A battle is on between spring and winter – both are hunkered down and ready for a good fight. First up, Spring works her sunny magic – turning the tips of leaves bright green with new life, purple faces of crocuses appear overnight. Then she pulls a surprise punch with a sudden dash of warm sunny heat that says ” I should be sitting on a patio somewhere with a tropical cocktail in hand”.

first faces of spring

Next, Winter bounces back with a left that says he isn’t about to bow down so easily, he has his pride to protect. Two days of chilly hurricane winds send people back inside to their cups of tea and good books. Eager gardeners groan with impatience. Despite the official change of season, thin layers of morning frost are thrown clinging to the windows of cars, reminding us who’s boss.

sand, sea, sky

And the fight goes on.

Right now it’s 8:15pm and the sky is a bright grey – thems a warring colour, as both sides tug-a-war for first place. The result is a surreal light with a glowing darkness that makes you confused as to the time of day.

I work with children and so I am used to these kinds of silly games. Despite my opinion, the stakes are high for the two involved. I know it’ll all turn out in the end as it should, so for now, I will sip my tea and wait this one out.